Bug report thread

New user or questions about forum features?
Please read/post here.
User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Bug report thread

Postby Sabine » Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:31 pm

Please post any notes about still-broken features here!
Image

User avatar
SherriA
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 14059
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:52 am
Location: Bethel, CT

Re: Bug report thread

Postby SherriA » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:05 pm

I don't know if it's "broken" but when I click into a thread it no longer takes me right to the next unread message. It always loads the first message, even if I've read most of the thread already.
Image

User avatar
SherriA
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 14059
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:52 am
Location: Bethel, CT

Re: Bug report thread

Postby SherriA » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:09 pm

I also see that all the emoticons are gone, replaced by their :text: Do we have emoticons here? I haven't found them yet if we do. If they're here, is the code for them different (in which case I'll have to relearn all my most used ones).
Image

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Sabine » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:12 pm

I'll have to check on the new/unread thing for you Sherri.

We still do have emoticons (and in a much more convenient, easy-to-use place now), but the ones used in old posts pre-transition are no longer displayed properly due to a change in internal code.
Image

User avatar
QBert
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 5636
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:55 am
Location: USA

Re: Bug report thread

Postby QBert » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:09 pm

I tried to post a "welcome to our new home" pic and got "Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached." in blue meanie text. *sob*

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Sabine » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:24 pm

Looking into it!
Image

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Sabine » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:26 pm

Should be fixed now.
Image

User avatar
JudyL
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 5930
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Delaware

Re: Bug report thread

Postby JudyL » Tue Oct 04, 2011 11:35 am

Not sure if this is a problem or just the way the new PMs work. I couldn't get a PM to send. It was sitting in my outbox until I logged out and then back in. Prior to that I lost one, not realizing that I had to click "add" after typing the recipient's name in the box, my fault there. So then I sent myself a PM as a test, and that one went through immediately without logging out.

Still learning. :(

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Sabine » Tue Oct 04, 2011 2:05 pm

It's how they work now, Judy. There are different ways you can add recipients, either from a "friends list" you can set up, or by typing the name in teh search box and clicking "add". Either way you have to assign the recipient before the message will reach them.

If your message was sent, you will get a confirmation screen at the end of the process.
Image

User avatar
JudyL
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 5930
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Delaware

Re: Bug report thread

Postby JudyL » Tue Oct 04, 2011 3:26 pm

Yes, I figured out the "add" recipient thing.

I did receive a confirmation that the email was sent, however it still sat in my outbox for ~ 15-20 mins not going anywhere. It was sent immediately after I logged out and then back in. That's what I was questioning; is that how it's supposed to work?

User avatar
Jen
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 14310
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 8:34 pm
Location: Portland-ish, OR

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Jen » Tue Oct 04, 2011 3:33 pm

I can't get posting via the mobile version to work. It tells me something like "can't figure out the image size" and there appears to be a signature line that says "Posting from my iphone" and an image link to "mordanna something or other." Even if I delete that, it won't post.

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Sabine » Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:02 pm

Jen, I will have to look into that. I haven't had time to play around with it on my phone at all.
Image

User avatar
Jen
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 14310
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 8:34 pm
Location: Portland-ish, OR

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Jen » Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:30 pm

On my iphone, I tried to post a reply that said "testing" in this thread.

Here's what I got:

Red text directly under the "Post a reply" title: "It was not possible to determine the dimensions of this image."

Then Subject box
The Message box with my message and the following directly underneath it: "bracket size=75 bracket bracket b bracket bracket i bracket bracket Post made via iPhone bracket bracket/i bracket bracket /b bracket bracket /size bracket
bracket img bracket http://www.mordanna.com/images/mobile/iPhone.png bracket slash img bracket
I tried deleting that text and resending, but it put it back in the message and gave me the same error text.

Then I tried unchecking Attach a signature (the first one) and Attach a signature (the second one)
Then I tried checking Disable BBCode

Same thing every time.

But where it says bracket . ., it actually had the brackets. When I tried to post it with brackets around the image, the desktop site gave me the same error code. And when I left the brackets around the formatting, it just formatted the text. I wanted to make sure you saw exactly what it said.

UpwardDog
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 6524
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Bug report thread

Postby UpwardDog » Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:38 pm

I got that too. I'm hoping eventually we'll get hooked up with tapatalk which makes forum use a breeze.

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Sabine » Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:37 pm

I've passed it on to Panther. He'll look into it when he has some free time.
Image

User avatar
emmas_mom
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 4412
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 9:25 pm
Location: BC Canada
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby emmas_mom » Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:43 am

When I click on "View Active topics", I get the response that there aren't any.
Mom to Maggie. Ever remembering Sadie, Charley, Caleb, Belle, Oliver, Shiloh, Eddie, Mitzi, Allie and Emma.
My blog: http://www.mylifewiththecritters.blogspot.com

User avatar
Amanda
Permanent Resident
Posts: 8127
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 12:51 pm
Location: California

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Amanda » Thu Oct 06, 2011 2:46 pm

I have the same mobile error as Jen, just sub Android where it says iPhone.

User avatar
QBert
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 5636
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:55 am
Location: USA

Re: Bug report thread

Postby QBert » Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:53 pm

"search" is not functional. Please to repair?

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Sabine » Wed Mar 14, 2012 6:57 pm

Looking into it!
Image

User avatar
QBert
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 5636
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:55 am
Location: USA

Re: Bug report thread

Postby QBert » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:08 pm

either you fixed it or it knows the same game as my over, and miraculously repaired itself just because you were looking. All better now.

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Sabine » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:13 pm

How odd. I noticed it can be glitchy. What didn't work for you?
Image

User avatar
Jen
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 14310
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 8:34 pm
Location: Portland-ish, OR

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Jen » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:25 pm

I had the same error message but five minutes later it was working. I got it when I tried to read "all unread."

User avatar
QBert
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 5636
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:55 am
Location: USA

Re: Bug report thread

Postby QBert » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:28 pm

I got several repeated "you cannot access the search function" sort of messages - sometimes I click into "Index" then "new posts", and anytime I tried that route, I got the error message. Out of curiosity I tried a forum search and got the same thing. Working fine now.

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Sabine » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:38 pm

Bizarre...
Image

User avatar
Jen
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 14310
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 8:34 pm
Location: Portland-ish, OR

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Jen » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:57 pm

I just got it right now. My bookmark is automatically the unread list, and it just said I don't have access to the search function when I came here.

User avatar
Amanda
Permanent Resident
Posts: 8127
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 12:51 pm
Location: California

Re: Bug report thread

Postby Amanda » Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:55 pm

I keep getting my login booted, even though I have the save my info and log me in automatically checked. It's doing it on my laptop and my phone.

RobinS
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 7391
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 3:40 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby RobinS » Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:51 am

I just got it right now. My bookmark is automatically the unread list, and it just said I don't have access to the search function when I came here.
Same problem for me...cannot view the new posts.

User avatar
emmas_mom
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 4412
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 9:25 pm
Location: BC Canada
Contact:

Re: Bug report thread

Postby emmas_mom » Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:22 am

I just got it right now. My bookmark is automatically the unread list, and it just said I don't have access to the search function when I came here.
Same problem for me...cannot view the new posts.
I was getting that message yesterday, but it is working fine today, after I shut the computer down last night and started it up again this morning. You might need to reboot your machine.

Edited to add: DANG IT, I lied.......it DID work this morning - that's how I ended up on this thread - but after hitting the back browser a couple of times to go to other threads, it now gives me the message that I don't have access to the search function.
Mom to Maggie. Ever remembering Sadie, Charley, Caleb, Belle, Oliver, Shiloh, Eddie, Mitzi, Allie and Emma.
My blog: http://www.mylifewiththecritters.blogspot.com

User avatar
JudyL
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 5930
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Delaware

Re: Bug report thread

Postby JudyL » Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:11 am

I've gotten the "can't access search" message too. Right now I'm getting "sorry but you cannot use search at this time. Please try again in a few minutes."

I've run into another problem too. When I click on "Members" in the upper-right of the title bar, it takes me to the listing fine. Then when I click on "all" or any of the letters of the alphabet, I am immediately bounced back to the home page. But if I go to the Members area and first click on one of the headings (username, rank, # of post), then I can click on "All" or a letter and it works just fine. Somehow I stumbled on that workaround.

UpwardDog
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 6524
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Bug report thread

Postby UpwardDog » Thu Mar 15, 2012 12:15 pm

active topics and new posts isn't working for me, same message as Judy.

I also can't quote --no icon to click. All I have is the "report post" icon and a little triangle that sends me back to the top. I'm using firefox.


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron