Page 1 of 1

quoting?

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:03 pm
by Paige
I feel dumb posting this, but I can't figure out how to quote previous posters. Used to be a button on the posts, now I can't find it! :help:

Re: quoting?

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:08 pm
by UpwardDog
I can't quote or edit. No buttons appear for me at all.

Re: quoting?

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:07 pm
by Sweetgrass Farm
I can't quote or edit. No buttons appear for me at all.

Hmm, worked for me and I'm about as computer illiterate as they come. :eek2:

Re: quoting?

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:08 pm
by Sweetgrass Farm
I feel dumb posting this, but I can't figure out how to quote previous posters. Used to be a button on the posts, now I can't find it! :help:
Upper righthand corner?

Re: quoting?

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:06 pm
by Sabine
Keep in mind that not all functions are supported by the mobile version. In the regular version it's upper right hand corner of a post, yep. :)

Re: quoting?

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:53 am
by LisaT_II
In the mobile version that I see, at the bottom right of the post, I see a red exclamation point (report a post), and a "quote" bubble. I don't know if all phones see the same thing?

Re: quoting?

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:45 am
by connie
With most browsers, you won't see the quote or edit function buttons unless you clear your cache, log out and log back in.

Once you 'refresh' the page on ODO, you lose those buttons. Happens to me on every browser I use, has been this way since the forum changed.

Re: quoting?

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:43 am
by UpwardDog
in firefox and IE all I have in upper right corner is the "report this post" button.

Re: quoting?

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:12 am
by SherriA
Weird. I have the quote button in Chrome, always, whether I've refreshed or not.

I just logged in via Firefox and IE, and it's there as well.

Makes me wonder if it's a browser preference or setting that's affecting it.

Re: quoting?

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:24 am
by connie
I dunno. This has been mentioned before, but I don't think any fix has been found.

I use Opera, or Safari, or TenFourFox, and with all of them, once I 'refresh' the page, I lose those buttons. It's a mystery to me!

Re: quoting?

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:46 pm
by UpwardDog
I got the buttons in google chrome

Re: quoting?

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:57 pm
by LisaT_II
I have quote and report in Firefox (laptop) and mobile (blackberry). Weird how it's different for some people. Wonder if you need to not only clear your cache, but your cookies also.

eta: just logged into chrome, no issue here.

eta2: just logged into Opera (which I don't know how to use at all), and no buttons. Oops, nevermind, I wasn't logged in. It worked fine.

Re: quoting?

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:05 pm
by LisaT_II
I use Opera, or Safari, or TenFourFox, and with all of them, once I 'refresh' the page, I lose those buttons. It's a mystery to me!
Is it a Mac thing maybe?