quoting?

New user or questions about forum features?
Please read/post here.
User avatar
Paige
Yes, I do have a life!
Posts: 2698
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 7:55 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal

quoting?

Postby Paige » Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:03 pm

I feel dumb posting this, but I can't figure out how to quote previous posters. Used to be a button on the posts, now I can't find it! :help:
Cash, LT and Soda. And some cats. Cats that are mean.

UpwardDog
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 6524
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Canada

Re: quoting?

Postby UpwardDog » Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:08 pm

I can't quote or edit. No buttons appear for me at all.

User avatar
Sweetgrass Farm
Active member
Posts: 389
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Bellingham, Washington
Contact:

Re: quoting?

Postby Sweetgrass Farm » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:07 pm

I can't quote or edit. No buttons appear for me at all.

Hmm, worked for me and I'm about as computer illiterate as they come. :eek2:

User avatar
Sweetgrass Farm
Active member
Posts: 389
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Bellingham, Washington
Contact:

Re: quoting?

Postby Sweetgrass Farm » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:08 pm

I feel dumb posting this, but I can't figure out how to quote previous posters. Used to be a button on the posts, now I can't find it! :help:
Upper righthand corner?

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19356
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: quoting?

Postby Sabine » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:06 pm

Keep in mind that not all functions are supported by the mobile version. In the regular version it's upper right hand corner of a post, yep. :)
Image

User avatar
LisaT_II
Yes, I do have a life!
Posts: 3502
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: California

Re: quoting?

Postby LisaT_II » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:53 am

In the mobile version that I see, at the bottom right of the post, I see a red exclamation point (report a post), and a "quote" bubble. I don't know if all phones see the same thing?
Max-n-Indy

Info regarding Ticks and Tick Diseases
http://tinyurl.com/3arfn6r

Forum for the GSD enthusiast!
germanshepherdhome.net/forum

connie
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 11207
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: quoting?

Postby connie » Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:45 am

With most browsers, you won't see the quote or edit function buttons unless you clear your cache, log out and log back in.

Once you 'refresh' the page on ODO, you lose those buttons. Happens to me on every browser I use, has been this way since the forum changed.

UpwardDog
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 6524
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Canada

Re: quoting?

Postby UpwardDog » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:43 am

in firefox and IE all I have in upper right corner is the "report this post" button.

User avatar
SherriA
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 14057
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:52 am
Location: Bethel, CT

Re: quoting?

Postby SherriA » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:12 am

Weird. I have the quote button in Chrome, always, whether I've refreshed or not.

I just logged in via Firefox and IE, and it's there as well.

Makes me wonder if it's a browser preference or setting that's affecting it.
Image

connie
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 11207
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: quoting?

Postby connie » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:24 am

I dunno. This has been mentioned before, but I don't think any fix has been found.

I use Opera, or Safari, or TenFourFox, and with all of them, once I 'refresh' the page, I lose those buttons. It's a mystery to me!

UpwardDog
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 6524
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Canada

Re: quoting?

Postby UpwardDog » Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:46 pm

I got the buttons in google chrome

User avatar
LisaT_II
Yes, I do have a life!
Posts: 3502
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: California

Re: quoting?

Postby LisaT_II » Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:57 pm

I have quote and report in Firefox (laptop) and mobile (blackberry). Weird how it's different for some people. Wonder if you need to not only clear your cache, but your cookies also.

eta: just logged into chrome, no issue here.

eta2: just logged into Opera (which I don't know how to use at all), and no buttons. Oops, nevermind, I wasn't logged in. It worked fine.
Max-n-Indy

Info regarding Ticks and Tick Diseases
http://tinyurl.com/3arfn6r

Forum for the GSD enthusiast!
germanshepherdhome.net/forum

User avatar
LisaT_II
Yes, I do have a life!
Posts: 3502
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: California

Re: quoting?

Postby LisaT_II » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:05 pm

I use Opera, or Safari, or TenFourFox, and with all of them, once I 'refresh' the page, I lose those buttons. It's a mystery to me!
Is it a Mac thing maybe?
Max-n-Indy

Info regarding Ticks and Tick Diseases
http://tinyurl.com/3arfn6r

Forum for the GSD enthusiast!
germanshepherdhome.net/forum


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest