Editing Posts

New user or questions about forum features?
Please read/post here.
BassetLover
Yes, I do have a life!
Posts: 2021
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:57 am
Location: USA

Editing Posts

Postby BassetLover » Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:55 pm

Since the forum changed I have not been able to figure out how you can edit a post. Can someone help me?

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19351
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Editing Posts

Postby Sabine » Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:25 pm

Editing your own messages is only possible for 12 hours after you have posted. This is to avoid people coming back and changing their posts after some time, which can make entire conversation threads meaningless.

If there's a specific, important reason for editing a post, you can request that an admin/moderator does it for you.
Image

BassetLover
Yes, I do have a life!
Posts: 2021
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:57 am
Location: USA

Re: Editing Posts

Postby BassetLover » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:54 pm

It's just that I don't even see where I can edit the post, like there isn't a button for edit.
Nothing important, just if I noticed I spelled something wrong, it kind of bugs me if I can't fix it. :tongue:

UpwardDog
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 6524
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Editing Posts

Postby UpwardDog » Tue Sep 11, 2012 5:02 pm

I don't have edit or quote feature either.

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19351
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Editing Posts

Postby Sabine » Tue Sep 11, 2012 5:10 pm

Is this in the mobile version?
Image

BassetLover
Yes, I do have a life!
Posts: 2021
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:57 am
Location: USA

Re: Editing Posts

Postby BassetLover » Wed Sep 12, 2012 7:03 am

No. I have a regular desktop computer.

UpwardDog
No, I don't have a life!
Posts: 6524
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Editing Posts

Postby UpwardDog » Wed Sep 12, 2012 8:01 am

I'm on my lap top. I've tried Firefix and Internet Explorer. Where are edit and quote supposed to be?

User avatar
SherriA
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 14054
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:52 am
Location: Bethel, CT

Re: Editing Posts

Postby SherriA » Wed Sep 12, 2012 8:27 am

I see them in the upper right corner of my post
Image

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19351
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Editing Posts

Postby Sabine » Wed Sep 12, 2012 1:52 pm

Which stylesheet?
Image

connie
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 11192
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Editing Posts

Postby connie » Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:20 pm

Sabine, this has been since the new version of the board. :) If you refresh your browser even once, you lose the edit feature. I have to clear all my browsing history and log back in to again have the edit button show up. I think there is a thread about this in Support, from a few months ago. But for anyone who doesn't see the edit button: clear your cache, log back in to the board, and it will be there.

connie
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 11192
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Editing Posts

Postby connie » Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:21 pm

'you lose the edit and quote features' I should have said.

ETA: yup, I just cleared my history, cache and cookies, and the edit and quote features show up again. I'm running Firefox (TenFourFox) but this also is true when I use Opera and Safari.

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19351
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Editing Posts

Postby Sabine » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:19 pm

Interesting, SeaMonkey doesn't do that.
Image

connie
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 11192
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Editing Posts

Postby connie » Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:18 pm

Weird! Did you hit the refresh button and then see if you still see the edit and quote buttons? I'm surprised, because isn't SeaMonkey a Mozilla browser, basically? The Mozilla browsers I have do it -- also I just tried Camino and OmniWeb, and both of them do it.

User avatar
Sabine
Site Admin
Posts: 19351
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 12:42 am
Custom Title: One Dog Girl
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Editing Posts

Postby Sabine » Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:05 pm

No, I've never had that issue. But then my status as an admin is also different from typical forum users.

And yeah, SeaMonkey is what Mozilla was renamed to after the project was abandoned.
Image

User avatar
SherriA
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 14054
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:52 am
Location: Bethel, CT

Re: Editing Posts

Postby SherriA » Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:15 pm

I usually use Chrome and have the edit functions, no problem. I just opened the board in Firefox (v 11.0) and my edit/quote functions are there just fine. I refreshed, closed the tab and reopened it, etc - still always have edit/quote functions in FireFox.

Not sure if that helps track down the problem, but I thought it was worth the datapoint.
Image

connie
Built-in Forum Feature
Posts: 11192
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Editing Posts

Postby connie » Wed Sep 12, 2012 7:19 pm

</Twilight Zone music...>

User avatar
maxs_mommy
Yes, I do have a life!
Posts: 2512
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:29 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Editing Posts

Postby maxs_mommy » Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:37 pm

Just a chime in. I use chrome and if I stay logged in for days/weeks, after awhile my quote and edit go away. Log out/log in and they're back. I always have the options on the mobile version.
Max "the ninja"-American Cocker Spaniel G-day 3/2009
Charlie "the middle child"- Orange Tabby G-day 7/2005
Sadie - Grey Tabby 9/1996-8/4/2012 RIP


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest